If you have a DUI in Los Angeles with a prior, you might question whether an IID is required for Second Time DUIs in Los Angeles.
What is an IID – Ignition Interlock Device?
IID stands for ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device is a device that requires that you blow it. It measures alcohol, and only allows your vehicle to start if you have zero alcohol in your system. Most of the devices also randomly or regularly require you to blow into the device while you are driving. IID devices must be professionally installed by a center that is approved by the DMV. They must also be regularly calibrated and maintained. The centers charge a fee for installation and maintenance. They must also report to the DMV the installation, removal, and any attempts to tamper with the device. For all first-time DUI cases in LA, an IID is required.
Why are Ignition Interlock Devices Required for First Time DUIs?
For first time offenses in California, only certain counties require an IID for first DUI convictions. Los Angeles County is the only county in Southern California that requires an IID on a first-time DUI. For Orange County DUI cases, there is no requirement of an IID.
The requirement of an IID is not a court imposed penalty. It is a DMV requirement. Why do all Los Angeles County cases all require this DMV imposed IID? The purpose is to see, as part of a test, whether or not IIDs have any impact against a first-time offender becoming a second-time offender.
The hope for the pilot program is to show, compared to statistics collected before the pilot project, that IIDs reduce second-time DUIs. If the IID requirement correlates and is proven to cause a reduction in second time DUIs, it will eventually be imposed on all drivers in California.
Is an IID Required for Second Time Offenders?
The court doesn’t require an IID in Los Angeles, and neither does the DMV. That makes the punishment for a second-time offense less than those for first time offenders, if you have a Los Angeles DUI case.
For second time DUI offenders, the court will not impose an IID requirement. The DMV will not make an IID mandatory for second time Los Angeles DUI convictions. For second time offenders, the DMV imposes an 18-month suspension. They also require that drivers attend an 18-month school to get a license back in full. Drivers have two options of getting a restricted license, at their choice:
- Install an IID and drive again on a restricted license after a 90-day hard suspension (three months), until the 18 months are completed; or
- Have a one year (12 month) hard suspension, and then have a restricted license for 6 months until the 18-month class is completed.
Most drivers choose the lower 90-day suspension, and have an IID installed, whether they have a Los Angeles DUI or not.
Contact Us For Assistance
If you need help, contact Los Angeles DUI Attorney Robert Miller, of the firm of Miller and Associates. We offer a free consultation if you have any questions about your DUI case.